Prayer

I round off the year–termed by “Time” magazine as “the worst year ever”– with a prayer for the New Year. For me, it was a great year, which introduced me to the exciting world of blogging. I would like to thank all those who read, followed and supported me. Happy New Year!

Photo by Rodolfo Clix on Pexels.com

PRAYER

Lead us into widening circles of light,

Brighter, ever bright.

Make us more compassionate and serene,

Than we have ever been.

Let tranquillity lap at our mind’s shore,

More and more.

Photo by THu00c1I NHu00c0N on Pexels.com

May purity govern our every thought and deed,

Truth be our creed.

Give us strength , happiness and will-power,

Hour after hour.

Photo by Public Domain Pictures on Pexels.com

Teach us to be humble and forthright,

With honesty our guiding light.

Gift us integrity of body, soul and mind,

Guide us to be gentle, generous, kind.

Photo by Wizard98 Photography on Pexels.com

Save us from despondency and despair,

Free us from tension and care.

Imbue us with faith and with Divine Grace,

Bless the human race.

Photo by Natalie on Pexels.com

Author: Lov Verma

I am a retired bureaucrat, with a passion for travel, tennis, poetry and films--not necessarily in that order! I have a twin brother, seventeen minutes my junior. Both my sons are abroad and happily married. I have taken up blogging to beat the Covid blues--and am rapidly becoming addicted!

35 thoughts on “Prayer”

  1. May New year bring peace prosperity love and empathy in the whole world. Thank 2020 a bad year who taught us to be more tolerant and a be good human being helping each other

    Liked by 3 people

  2. A master time piece indeed, need of the hour and so soothing to our disoriented souls. My Dad worked with you when you were Director Medical Health. God bless us all now and ever!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Beautiful expression Lov !!
    To me this year was good, quiet and pure. No externalities. Just you and yourself. Pure air to breathe with no contamination. Ordinary clothes which didn’t need ironing and simple food only to increase immunity. Life lived for meaning and not for display. Wonderful new normal.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. The society really needs this beautifully scripted prayer coming out true
    U hv dug out positivity from mounds of negativity
    Just reading it gives a feel of calmness n serenity
    An apt New Year gift Sir
    Regards
    D K

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi lov , it left a kind of tranquillity in my mind and reminded me of that oft quoted prayer to the Lord togive me serenity to accept what cannot be changed, the courage to change what can, and the wisdom to know the difference!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. A beautiful Prayer which makes us think of the good that came out of our being able to view life from a different angle, cherish the moments we have in life and become more compassionate , caring and resilient .
    May 2021 restore normalcy and bring happiness in to our lives!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hi Lov, You have so beautifully put in words all those thoughts that we all have all those hopes that weall have . I read and read your poetry and it will remind me to somehow keep all those thoughts in my mind and aim to act so to achieve those goals.Wishing you and your family avery happy and a healthy New year

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shefayet, great to hear from you! Took me down memory lane! Your appreciation means the world to me. I also wish you and your family a very happy and healthy new year! Warm regards

      Like

Leave a comment